Table of Contents

Previous

Next


Understanding Output Generation and Regeneration

In ePublisher, you generate output using either the generate or regenerate option. The generate and regenerate option both create output from your project. However, there are some important differences between the options.

As you make changes to your source documents and your project settings, you need to generate output files in order to see any changes made to the following items:

When you generate output for a target for the first time, ePublisher creates the output files for the first time. After you generate output files for a target the first time, if you generate output for your target again, you update your output files with the changes you made in your source documents and the changes you made to your project settings. Generating, or updating, your output creates output files more quickly than regenerating your output files.

Use the generate option when you have made changes to the following project settings:

When you regenerate output, ePublisher deletes the Data folder from the project folder, creates a new Data folder, and creates new output files each time. Regenerate your output any time you add new information to your source documents that is not content. Non-content modifications to source documents include adding, removing, or modifying following items:

ePublisher/2009.3/Help/03.Preparing_and_Publishing_Content/3.044.Producing_Output_Based_on_Stationery (last edited 2009-11-16 17:31:36 by TonyMcDow)